Volunteer Opportunities

The McClure PTSA helps around the school in many areas. There are many places to volunteer your time, no matter how much time you can give!

2017-2018

(Committees listed in blue need a chairperson or co-chairs)
(Committees noted in red need volunteers)

Membership – Runs PTSA membership drive; distributes membership cards and keeps membership list current with state and national PTSA. Chairperson – Sarah Baumhoff – sfe2000@mindspring.com

Science FairHelps teachers organize projects and transport winning projects to next level of competition. Chairperson(s) needed.

Box Tops – Collects and submits Box Tops in Oct and Feb.  Chairperson  – Tracey Brownlee – traceybrownlee99@gmail.com

Candy Grams – Organize volunteers to sell candy grams before school in December and February.  Distribute candy canes to homerooms. Volunteers needed. Co-Chairs – Mariann Dewitt – dewitt5@comcast.net and Lana Pretelin – vlk854@att.net

Reflections – Promote the art contest.  Collect entries and assure guidelines were followed.  Secure judges and plan awards ceremony. Chairperson – Shae Smith – smthco@msn.com

Fine Arts Night – Works with the art and music departments to showcase the talents of McClure students. Volunteers needed. Chairperson – Christ Brogden Christi.brogden@gmail.com

Grade Level Events – Plans and executes an after school event at McClure. 6th and 7th grade events take place in the fall.   The 8th grade event is the 8th grade dance which takes place at the end of the school year.

6th grade – Co-Chairs  – Amanda Brucato – brucatoamanda@gmail.com and Paige White –    paige81@gmail.com
7th grade – Co-Chairs –  Amy Valerio – amyvalerio1@yahoo.com) and Amanda Brucato –  brucatoamanda@gmail.com
8th Grade Dance – Shae Smith – smthco@msn.com and Debbi Schulte – utvol@bellsouth.net

If you are interested in Chaperoning the 8th grade dance this year, please contact Connie Bargeron – bargeron@comcast.net (Not open to 8th grade parents.)

Campus Beautification – Facilitates campus beautification projects.  Chairperson(s) and volunteers needed.

Lost and Found – Keeps the lost and found closet organized.  Try to return items to students, if possible. Chairperson – Brenda Thomas – carlbren@bellsouth.net

Legislation and Advocacy – Keeps McClure parents informed of all legislation regarding education. Chairperson(s) and volunteers needed.

Duty Free Lunch – Monitors students in the cafeteria, to allow teachers to enjoy a quiet lunch.  We provide Duty Free Lunch once a month; look for the Sign Up Genius in the Maverick Minute. Volunteers needed.  Co-Chairs – Karen Widner – kdwidner@bellsouth.net and Elizabeth Johnson – elizabethbyrdjohnson@gmail.com

Healthy Living – Promotes healthy living to students throughout the year.  Organizes healthy living activities each day of one specific week. Co-Chairs – Danielle Watson – Danielle.z.watson@gmail.com and Paige White – paigewhite81@gmail.com

Trading Post – (School Store) – Sells merchandise to students.  Store is open Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays before school. Volunteers needed. Co Chairs – Christine Klinkert cklinkert@comcast.net and Tonya Drew tcdrew@bellsouth.net

Red Ribbon Week– Coordinates activities during Red Ribbon Week.  Chairperson – Pamela Tracy – pamelatracy@gmail.com

Anti-Bullying Week – Promotes Anti-Bullying campaign. Chairperson – Amy Moore-McColloch – Mc-mo5@comcast.net Volunteers welcomed!

Hospitality – Helps plan events for Teacher Appreciation Week and other special treats for teachers, during the year.  Many volunteers are needed to send in food items, decorate for special events, and serve on occasion. Co-Chairs – Jema Cowan – jemacowan@hotmail.com and Tina Parker – tinaparker32@comcast.net

Science Palooza – A fun Night of Science at McClure.  Many volunteers are needed to help with experiments, activities, food coordination, volunteer coordination, etc. Chairperson – Missy Miller – todamiller@bellsouth.net

If you are interested in a committee that does not have a chairperson, please contact Co-PTSA presidents, Connie Bargeron and Dana Nooney at mcclureptsa@gmail.com.